The Daily Grind

Today I was dropping off my tax return in the mail at the post office, when one of my coworkers from my last job saw me. He was pissed off I did not write him back. Here is an excerpt of my response and his reply. 

Sorry, I did not write you back. However I have been laying low for a while, not going to invites and avoiding people recently because I do not want to bring up I am still unemployed. It actually is sort of embarrassing, [the company] was the third job I had in three years. The only pro I can see is that I am not doing the daily grind that we spoke about at our last days at [the company]. But I am the last employee who is still looking for work.

__________________________________________________________________________

Dick, you don’t need to be embarrassed, happens to most people at some point.

when [the company] broke the news to me i took an offer at [another company] and stopped looking for jobs, a month later they told me they couldn’t hire me, then for 2 months i couldn’t find ANYTHING. i was so depressed, i didn’t leave my apartment for a week (honestly, a full week). ate like a slob, no gym, didn’t talk to people on the phone, it was a dark time

i thought that all i wanted was a job and it would make everything better. starting working at [this company], and 4 months later im back in a rut where i hate life since im sitting at a desk 11 hours a day wasting my life in front of a computer. now i almost wish i was unemployeed but doing active things during the day.

the grass is always greener.

i know you have been looking longer then i have, i guess what im trying to say is that getting some stupid 9-5 (or 7-6) office job isn’t going to make you happy. you’re surviving and that’s all that matters.

you’re a smart guy, if you can gather the motivation you should really try and pursue something on your own rather then working for the man.

2 Comments

Filed under Gainfully Unemployed

2 responses to “The Daily Grind

  1. bpmee

    “you’re a smart guy, if you can gather the motivation you should really try and pursue something on your own rather then working for the man.”

    Exactly. If you can’t find work, create it. Entrepreneurial efforts payoff the most.

  2. Haywood

    Wow, great post on many levels. Dick, the grass is as green as you want it to be. Stop whining and do it!

Leave a Reply

