Speed Dating With Asian Women

Last November, 13th Renaldo suggested that we go to speed dating. When I hear of speed dating I am reminded of the scene from the movie Hitch where the woman stands up and announces she has not been laid in a year. He suggested this speed dating thing but I found something else happening later in the week from OnSpeedDating which has themed speed dating events. One of their events is called Asian Persuasion, for asian women and the men who like them.

He signed up immediately and by the time I try to sign up the event was closed for men. Not to be outdone by my non-Asian men with Asian fetishes I decided to go to the event early and see if there was anyone who cancelled so I can squeeze in. Otherwise I would of gone to the nearby gym. Luckily the host allowed me to squeeze in. If you don’t know anything about speed dating they pair up a girl and a guy and they each have three minutes to speak with each other. After the three minutes a bell rings and one person (usually the guy rotates to the next girl) and the process repeats itself. Each girl/guy has a sheet to record notes about the person they like and at the end of the night if they both select each other then they can trade contact info and chat again.

Renaldo likes to take me along because he makes this outrageous claim that women are magically drawn to me. Even though there is a New York Times bestseller written about him. Since there were just slightly more men than women, some men will be at empty tables. And for the first round I was at an empty table. Two guys and two girls who were at the bar to watch the football game were watching the speed dating event. One of the non-Asian girls (hispanic) came up and talked to me during the first three minutes. Her two guy friends kept lip-syching numbers to me. The numbers correspond to the station of the girls they thought were attractive. Of course they pointed to the next station to my right where there was an attractive dark skinned Filipino girl. They also shouted out a number corresponding to a light-skinned Taiwanese girl I would meet later in the night.

Overall though it was a mediocre experience. Once again the old saying goes “Women are like parking spaces… The good ones are always taken.” And you have to wonder why any attractive, good personality girl would go to speed dating. They don’t. For the most part I can see why these women are single. Some examples one girl has a few extra pounds and bad breath. One woman had frizzy dyed blonde highlights and was way too old for me (in their forties). Asian women tend to age well so if she looked in her forties then she could easily be in her forties.

At the end of the night, Renaldo and I sat down and decided to have dinner at the bar/restaurant there and one of the male speed daters approached us and asked us who we liked. Of course as with guys they always pick the same woman, the pale-skinned Taiwanese girl, the dark skinned Filipino girl and there was a girl who had her name legally changed to a French name. I did not find anyone who I felt I wanted to see again. But let us see who picks me. As for Renaldo as any good pickup artist he actually tried to get the Asian girl’s immediately (with the French name).

3 Comments

Filed under The Women of Dick

3 responses to “Speed Dating With Asian Women

  1. Grover Mannings

    This entry about speed dating was an interesting read, including the link to the Amazon.com page that reviewed The Game by Neil Strauss. Dick, you might recall a conversation we had recently about a guy with a dildo stuck on his head meeting women on the street. This guy is one of Neil Strauss’ students and he acts on a number of various challenges in videos Strauss created. Strauss actually has a whole series of Youtube videos dedicated to picking up women, although a 3 minute video is probably not as thorough as his best selling book.

    I’ve never done speed dating but I get the concept. As you noted, the guys will inevitably single out the 8+ girls as potential dates. Meanwhile, the women might not choose anyone at all, except perhaps the most charming, attractive guy in the speed dating circuit. I don’t know if 3 minutes would be long enough to really get the sense of someone else. Then again, the director of the event can’t make it 20 minutes a date or else you would have been there until 2 AM.

    I suppose success in Speed Dating rarely occurs, but the appeal of meeting many potential dates on the fly does make sense. Personally, I think internet dating websites like eHarmony.com are better suited to people looking for a serious relationship, while speed dating and other structured mingling activities produce phone numbers and nothing more.

    Dick, I’d suggest going to a speed dating event with women you find attractive. It sounds like you weren’t overly impressed with the selection of Asian women at the “Asian Persuasion” event. Maybe you should try a mixed event, Latina, Ebony women, or strictly white women. It might depend on what neighborhood you’re in.

    I suppose the lingering question is this: where do I find attractive women who are employed, not crazy, preferably with no children, and have good values? I can answer 50% of that question; my guess is they’re watching TV after a hard day’s work and don’t have the time to do dating activities. They probably meet boyfriends through friends-of-friends or in the office if they work for a large corporate firm. Maybe the rest in are exclusive clubs on Saturday night where selection of men is probably more competitive.

    Good Luck,

    Grover Still Beer Belly Mannings

    • I WENT TO DEC 3 2012 ASIAN PERSUATION AND THERE WAS 13 ASIAN FEMALES ONLY 5 WERE ATTRACTIVE AND IN THE CORRECT AGE RANGE FOR THE EVENT 25-42 THE REST OF THEM APPEARED TO BE IN THE LATE 40’S OR 50. IT WAS HELD 1 HOUR LATE AND THERE WAS MORE GUYS THAN FEMALES NOT A GOOD SPEEDDATING EVENT I DID GET 1 MATCH BUT, IT WAS ONE OF THE OLD GIRLS AT THE EVENT MANY OF THE GIRLS SEEM INTERESTED IN ME STATING WE SHOULD HANG OUT YET, THEY DID NOT PICK ME AS A MATCH I WONDER? ARE THESE WOMEN PROFESSIONAL DATERS WHO ARE HIRED TO GET GUYS TO PAY FOR THE EVENTS BUT ,THEY DON’T PICK ANYONE SINCE THEY ARE THERE AS EYE CANDY THIS HAS BEEN DONE ON OTHER DATING SITES THIS WAS MY FIRST SPEEDDATING EVENT SO I MIGHT TRY IT AGAIN BUT BEWARE SOME SPEEDDATING EVENTS MAY BE SCAMS

      • If the women who suggested seeing each other again were any of the five attractive ones then I would venture to say they are “hired guns.” Match.com has a new group of events called Stir. They always claim at least 100 women RSVPs for each event.
        My experience as limited as it may be is that women of substance (physically attractive, intelligent and non-crazy) are not single. If they are single they are not chronically single for long periods of time. But most of all they do not go to speed dating events. The old saying goes: “Women are like parking spaces, the good ones are always taken.”

Leave a Reply

