Dick’s New Year’s Resolution (s)

My first new year’s resolution is to be even more persistent (or annoying) depending on how you see it in 2012. I am reminded of this scene from Die Hard where John McClaine’s wife says “Only John can drive someone that crazy.”

At my last job I asked so many questions of one of my coworkers he actually got so annoyed he found another job.

When I used to work at a health club there was a personal trainer who was a germophobe. He left a jockstrap and softball mitt in the locker. Someone made the claim that I had borrowed his mitt and never returned it. I went around and said I actually borrowed the jockstrap.

In college I told the associate deans of the college that if I finished the semester in good standing I would actually show up to their office and give them each a bottle of expensive wine while refusing my diploma.

And perhaps the ultimately annoying thing I have ever done: In college one night when in fall of 1999 during final examinations week I was a computer lab technician assigned to the main library. The computer network had gone down campus wide so students could not send jobs to the printer. Students from around the campus also were sending jobs from their dorm rooms and coming from far and wide expecting to pick them up in the library. They found themselves unable to print anything. As the frustration grew I spoke with the librarians and no one seemed to have any solution. So I posted a sign next to the printer that said “Pissed off the printers aren’t working. Please call (860) XXX-XXXX.” The number corresponded to the computer lab manager’s phone number. However since the problem was not going to solve itself and it was 10pm. I found the directory of faculty/staff and called the lab manager at his home. A 13-year-old daughter picked up the phone and asked who it was and I explained that I was a computer lab technician who worked for her father and the network was completely down. About less than an hour later the lab manager showed up, assessed the situation and reset all the routers and servers on campus resolving the problem. But those I went to school with still clearly remember Dick just being Dick…and 2012 won’t be any different.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dick’s New Year’s Resolution (s)

  1. Grover Mannings

    “And perhaps the ultimately annoying thing I have ever done: In college one night when in fall of 1999 during final examinations week I was a computer lab technician assigned to the main library. ”

    ROTFLMAO – I remember that incident more than I remember the finals I took that semester. Hilarious, sad, and thought provoking all at once.

    Why didn’t they let us have alcohol in the library? A few beers and the whole place would have been cheering you on 🙂

Leave a Reply

