BREAKING NEWS: NYPD January 2012 Class Cancelled

I just called my background investigator for the New York Police Department (NYPD) to let her know I am under medical review (or disqualification depending on how you look at it). I didn’t elaborate on it because the woman who is also a police officer asked her why I even called her to tell her this and then hung up the phone. Our conversation went something like this:

PO: ffdjklsdfkl;sdfl;sal;fkl;sdsda (some incoherent introduction)

Dick: Hi, is this Police Officer I_Don’t_Give_A_Crap?

PO: This is Police Officer I_Don’t_Give_A_Crap. Why are you calling me?

Dick: Police Officer I_Don’t_Give_A_Crap my name is Dick and I called to tell you I was assigned to you to do my background investigation.

PO: What is your exam number:

Dick: 8132

PO: We are not doing investigations for your exam until February. You won’t make the January class. I’ll call you back in February.  Why are you calling me now?

Dick: Well I’m calling you because my letter says that I have to call you within ten business days. But I just wanted to let you know I am under medical review so I have to resolve that before I contact you.

PO: Okay then it’s not a problem then. Even if you resolve your medical it will still be in February. (phone hangs up)

Upon scouring the message boards for law enforcement I found several people in the same boat who are further along in the process for my exam number. I wish sometimes the people I actually talked to who are involved in recruiting or processing people for the armed or law enforcement services actually care [or pretended to care] about their jobs. How can I be motivated for the job I am about to undertake if you yourself don’t actually give a s**t?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “BREAKING NEWS: NYPD January 2012 Class Cancelled

  1. Grover Mannings

    Sadly the only “Dick” that has NYC law enforcement right is Dick Wolf, executive producer of the “Law and Order” series. Thanks to him we all have unrealistic expectations of law enforcement. The officer you talked to was probably on a coffee and doughnut break and couldn’t be bothered to be helpful.

    It might be worthwhile to journal all these events and then produce a documentary about the trials and tribulations of applying to a law enforcement job. That way, if you don’t get it, at least you’ll have something to serve as backup income while you sort another path out.

  2. al newtown

    bitch was probably on the rag. another example of why women should not be carrying a badge and gun.

    should be at home making me dinner after a hard days work.

    • Speaking of rags. My toilet is clogged. I asked my mother what the heck is in it that a plunger can not clear. She admitted that she accidently dropped a rag down the toilet and flushed it. We are getting a bowl lift tomorrow.

  3. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

