My 24 Hours In a Hurricane Evacuation Shelter Part #2

Not much to do…Until Felton got me later that night and we drove around. Between 11:30 am and 1 am Felton drove a taxi around and the beginning of the hurricane was where we couldn’t even see the front of the car when the rain was pouring down. When I opened the car door at the Korean bodega at East 28 Street and Second Ave the door opened

When I woke up in the morning around 10am the stupid children were still running around, some ghetto children running and screaming….a little boy screaming like a girl…I felt like gettin up out of bed and just yelling at the top of my lungs, “shut the f**k up and take your children somewhere else, so I can get some sleep.” But the hurricane was gone and it was merely windy and dry.

I survived Hurricane Irene and I know a little better that I want a job where I am important simply because I am helping those in need. My 24 hours in the hurricane evacuation shelter was memorable…no Financier coffee, Harry’s Italian food like my coworkers are used to. Just MREs (meals ready to eat), water, no showering no bathing in some of the worst conditions you could imagine. It makes you think about how connected we are to electricity, running water and technology.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

