The Matrix Part One

A few weeks ago, Daryl got me an interview at his start-up company. This job is considered by him to be very difficult and I never usually take what he says seriously. Until I visited him at work one day and spent some considerable time with him. And I must say he does a very difficult job.

You will see me make a lot of references to the movie the Matrix in these postings because at this company they’re looking for someone very technical, (read electrical, chemical, computer engineering, information technology, programming)

I don’t doubt Daryl is a very hard worker, however sometimes I believe people work hard at the wrong things.

During this interview one of the hiring managers said that he was looking for

But as one of his hiring managers put it..the last person I hired was supposed to be “plug and play.” but when we plugged him in he didn’t play. Another manager said I know exactly what I am looking for, someone who is smart, trainable. “Notice I didn’t mention anything technical because those skills can be taught.” I asked him how he can measure the intangibles..and he said he can’t but he knows that I’m someone whose trainable. And that Daryl won’t let me fail.

What I am worried about is not being able to do the job. His coworkers seem to be confident in my ability to. But I am afraid that I may not be able to meet the huge learning curve and that the coworkers such as Daryl may not have the time to be able to train me. I truly believe a combination of formalized classroom and on-the-job training will be the key to making sure every candidate is successful. But as Daryl’s coworker hinted at…this may not be possible.

1 Comment

Filed under Gainfully Unemployed

One response to “The Matrix Part One

  1. Grover Mannings

    Dick,

    Take this job, you have NOTHING to lose.

    The second manager is correct: hiring someone who is trainable is much safer and potentially more valuable than someone with alphabet soup after their name and little ability to adapt to new situations.

    “Plug and Play” hiring is a common tactic among businesses these days. I was hired as “Plug and Play” a couple times and there is immediate pressure to get results.

    It’s far better to get “broken in” on the job opposed to being expected to move mountains from day one.

    Plus, their investment in your training will most likely produce an employee who is loyal and willing to go the extra mile to get the job done.

    Take the job, you won’t regret it.

    Regards,

    Grover Mannings

Leave a Reply

