Am I The One?

As many readers know, Daryl’s job has a high turnover rate. In the past 30 days two people have resigned and one was released. Online searches have garnered no viable candidates because although they have what they believe are the necessary skills to be successful these candidates sometimes work out and sometimes do not. Last night Daryl worked till 2am and two days earlier pulled an all nighter. He pitched his project managers to let me come in during evenings and attempt to learn this job. The project managers are believe that I might be someone who might be able to be successful at this job so they mentioned it to the VP of Operations.

Next week I will be going to a round of interviews at Daryl’s company culminating in a job that I probably am totally unqualified for. Check out this video I found on a 28 year old unemployed guy on Britain’s Got Talent and then read a convo between Daryl and I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z62zrqaqVbY 

DARYL:
You’re the One, Dick. You see, you may have spent the last six months looking for work, but [my company] has spent their entire company history looking for you.
DARYL:
I won’t lie to you, Dick. Every employee and help desk guy who tried at [my company], has failed. But where they failed, you will succeed.
DICK:
Why?
DARYL:
I’ve seen employees work till the next day. They have slept in your hallway and still had to go back to work. Yet their programming and technical problem solving skills are still based on a work environment that is built on writing config files and running packets through Wireshark. Because of that they will never be as strong or as fast as you can be.
Dick scratches his head.
DICK:
What? Are you trying to tell me that I can make six figures and still go home before midnight?
DARYL:
No, Dick. I’m trying to tell you that when you’re ready, you’ll make millions without even coming to work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

